A Little Housekeeping on God

So I saw something that made me want to make a little “housekeeping” note.  I wanted to say something about my blog and the followers of my blog.

First and foremost, I must say this: I am very thankful to everyone who follows and reads my blog.  When I say “follows,” I’m assuming those people actually read the words I wrote.  All of them.  And I would love for more people to comment.  I don’t get a lot of comments but I also know I’m not, yet, known for posting on a regular basis.  That is something I’m going to try very hard to start doing.  I think it would both help me increase my followers and readers, but it would also help me.  It would help me by getting some of this stuff out.

Surprisingly, and I think this isn’t something that is unique to me, it helps to write this stuff down.  To journal.  This blog is basically my journal.  I used to keep one on my computer, before that I used to keep on my pad and paper, and I never knew why.  I always thought maybe I would go back later and use parts of it for some of the stores I wanted to write.  If I will actually do that, I don’t know.  If some of my experiences will ever become part of the characters I will write in the future, I don’t know.

On a related note, I have since lost all of the old journals I had.  I also lost most of the ones I kept on the computer because they were on diskette.  All of my things were stolen from a storage unit I once rented so that is one of the reasons I also thought I would start posting online.  That way I felt my journal would be safe.  It would be somewhere online and if I ever lost valuable possessions again, I would at least be able to go on the internet, to my site, and get them.  Hopefully that will be true, but more importantly, I hope I don’t lose anything else like that again.  It wasn’t a very good experience.  Especially since I was in the middle of a house move and everything I had, that I had worked for a built up, was lost.  Anyway.

So keeping in mind that I am thankful and appreciate of all of my followers, I noticed one that made me stop and think.  It is from a religious person…I think a preacher.  That made me stop and pause.

The reasons it made me pause is two-fold.  First, I am gay.  I make it very evident.  It is one of the things in my life that I am most proud of.  It takes, even know, I think, a lot of strength and courage to be gay in public.  While we are getting a tremendous amount of support and forward progress, there is still work that needs to be done.  It is even more evident that must progress still needs to be made in the country and south.

While I don’t live in the “deep south,” I am very close to it.  I am lucky.  I live in a reasonably nice place where I don’t actually fear for my life for being out and proud.  I have a gay sticker on my car.  Everyone I know knows I’m gay and everyone I work with does as well.  I am very proud of that.  I love the gay person I am.  While I might have mental issues that I need to deal with and fix, being gay is not something I am ashamed of in the least.  I will shout it to the world from the rooftops.

The second thing that gives me pause is the fact that I do have “mental issues.”  I have depression.  Might be slightly bipolar and god knows what else.

Seeing that I’m gay and have mental issues, and considering some of the people I have meet and been around, I have a problem with “religious” people.  I don’t like religion and don’t honestly known why people would want to follow “god” considering the things that have been done and violent acts rendered in his name.

Additionally, there are a lot of people out there who feel like “god” can cure, heal, and fix all the mental problems people have.  They also feel like being gay is wrong and you need to know god and he will “deliver” you from the “evilness.”  I couldn’t disagree with that more.

Now I don’t know this person.  I don’t know exactly what he or she believes.  I tried looking at some of the posts and they just seem a bit outlandish for me.  I would almost describe it as philosophical religion.  I just can’t bear to read it.  I’m sorry.

But I want to be very clear on this one thing: I do not feel that I would be better off if I believed in god.  I think religion can be beneficial to some people, but I still don’t believe in it.

Maybe I will later write more on my feelings on religion and the people I think it can help.  But I also thin it has hurt more people than it has helped.

Thanks for reading, and COMMENT and subscribe!  🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses to “A Little Housekeeping on God

Leave a Reply

