More Work Bullshit

I have a whole category on this blog for work related content.  I haven’t written much about that.  Since I started this blog I haven’t had much workplace bullshit to deal with, but I do have quite a few stories I could tell.  I don’t know if I will ever use this blog to talk about some of that old stuff.  One reason is I just don’t like to think about it because it stresses me out and I don’t like being stressed out.  I certainly don’t like thinking about old history that stressed me out at the time so I can get stressed out all over again.  Stress will kill you.

I just found out I have more fucking stress to deal with at work.

I’m the boss of my department, but of course I have a boss, too.  One of the reasons she is there is so I can bounce things off of (her own words).  She is also there so I can ask questions so I don’t make a mistake.  I did that today and in doing so I think I opened up a whole new can or worms.  I want to scream and curse and run away now and throw up my hands and just say fuck it!

Let me say this first: I am passive-aggressive.  As much as I may not want that to be true, it is.

Tomorrow my boss will be paying me a visit.  She knows when I clean out my office, I’m missed and thinking about quitting.  I’ve done it before.  This is not the first time I’ve done this; I used to do it when I worked for my last company (which was the first company that I ever had an office to clean out).

While I was discussing this issue on the phone with her today, after she told me about where she’s standing, I let her know her thinking is a mistake and I was pissed about it.  If I stand idly by and allow her to get her way on this, which I will have no other choice but to do if I can’t talk her out of it, it will be, by far, the biggest, most egregious mistake I have ever made in my career.  I feel so strongly about this that, if I had the money to life for a while without a job, I would quit over this one issue if she makes the decision I’m thinking she might make…the decision she’s leaning toward.  Since I can’t afford to quit over this, it would certainly make me thinking about finding another job.

I won’t go into detail on what exactly happen to cause all this, but two people were involved, as far as my boss is concerned.  In my opinion, only one employee was actually in the wrong.  I was going to write up the employee who I thought was in the wrong and I sent the paperwork to my boss for review to make sure I could legally enact the particular punishment I was calling for.  My boss says, because our reputation was somewhat involved, this is grounds for termination but she did not feel you could terminate one without terminating both.

It is true that I think this particular employee, the one who actually did the wrong, needs to be fired.  I don’t, however, feel we should sacrifice one person, who happens to be one of the best employees, for the greater good.

We have been going through a bit of a reputation crisis lately, which I am trying to fix.  That, I think, is the biggest reason my boss is so upset about this particular incident because it did nothing to help that matter.  Boss feels like had Good Employee not allowed this particular incident to happen Bad Employee would haven’t have been able to do what she did.  My point is I am the only enforcing entity here so it was not Good Employee’s problem to stop this particular incident.  I just didn’t know about it at the time so I couldn’t have stopped it.

We will see how this all turns out.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

